Sew Bouje

Dreaming up a fabulous wardrobe one pattern at a time

Another rainy weekend September 17, 2011

Filed under: A L'il 'Bout We! — sewbouje @ 8:04 pm

We’re well into the wet season here in Bim, so this weekend was a lot like the last one. Rain, rain and more rain! Although, thankfully, it was only a trough system passing and nothing as serious as the tropical storm that threatened last week.

I’m adjusting to a new class in Property Management, so I wasn’t really in a sewing mood. I was just too tired, and its been a while since my brain has had to be in school-mode!

I think the rain finally held up about 5:00 p.m. and the twenty steps from my door to the beach rewarded me with this scene…..

null

…..not a bad sunset, at all!…..

….which gave me a great idea……

Since there’s no sewing, i thought I’d treat you to ‘A l’il bout we’…..which, tidied up in proper English, simply means ‘a little about us’. Barbados. Barbadians. Or in local dialect, Bajans. From time to time, I hope to share little tidbits about my lovely country, and if all goes well, I’ll be able to work some fashion/sewing into that too.

So, here we go.

We are the most easterly of the Caribbean islands, and technically, we not really in the Caribbean sea, but in the Atlantic Ocean. But, who’s quibbling! We’re barely 166 square miles, and most estimates say our population is about 250,000 people.

Ummmm…we’re predominantly a black society, but you will still find almost every other race represented in some form on the island. During colonial times our island remained solely in British hands…we were never Spanish, French, or anything else.

My half-sister had her first visit to Barbados back in August and I’ll describe our society to you the same as I did to her. Think about most things you can get in a big international city, and you can probably find it here as well…just really scaled down!

Well that’s my little titbit for today. Please feel free to comment. Tell me if you think that knowing  a l’il more ‘bout we would be interesting.

 

Leave a Reply

